UHESA

About

2017-2018 Officers

board member

President: Julia Ellis

Salt Lake Community College

Julia.Ellis@slcc.edu

board member

President-Elect: Jenny McConnell

University of Utah

jennifer.mcconnell@eccles.utah.edu

board member

Past-President: Andrea Brown 

Dixie State University

abrown@dixie.edu

Secretary: Shalece Nuttall 

Utah Valley University

Shalece.Nuttall@uvu.edu

 

Treasurer: Nathan Gerber

Utah Valley University

Nathan.Gerber@uvu.edu

 

PR/Media Committee Chair: Gus Calder

Salt Lake Community College

Gus.Calder@slcc.edu

 

Legislative Committee Chair: Jim Logue 

University of Utah

j.logue@utah.edu

 

Bring a Friend to Finish (BFF) Chair: Kevin Springer

Salt Lake Community College

Kevin.Springer@slcc.edu

 

Our Mission

Our mission is to unify, train, educate, and cultivate higher education staff and their associations; to create a powerful voice for staff within the state of Utah; to instill a sense of pride in higher education staff; and to educate the citizens of Utah regarding the worth of Higher Education.

UHESA provides a means of association and communication between the Staff Associations of each institution of the Utah System of Higher Education. Membership in UHESA consists of representatives from each institution's Staff Association officers and all higher education staff. In addition to monthly meetings and quarterly conferences, UHESA organizes a Day at the Capitol each February for all higher education staff to speak with legislatures about the importance of higher education within the state system and its vital role as an economic engine for the state.

Strategic Goals

I. UHESA serves all staff in higher education and works together to:

  1. Unify higher education staff associations toward common goals.
  2. Provide representation and a powerful voice for staff in higher education in Utah.
  3. Offer a means through which staff may influence decisions that affect employment, compensation, benefits, retirement, work environment, and any other matter pertaining to the work environment.
  4. Improve relations of higher education staff with the Office of the Governor of the State of Utah, the Utah State Board of Regents, and Utah State Legislators.
  5. Train staff association leaders on ways to help strengthen their associations and institutions, as well as instill a sense of pride in staff.
  6. Present means of association and inter-communication among the staff within the Utah System of Higher Education.
  7. Educate and encourage staff of the USHE institutions to become involved in the political process.
  8. Promote the worth of higher education in the state of Utah.